KevinKurz.com

Day 4: Only 350 words behind schedule!

2 Comments

Screen shot 2009-11-04 at 10.54.13 AM

So over the past three days, I’ve learned a few things:

  • Sometimes, you just can’t write. Don’t force it, just wait it out and make up the difference later.
  • TV and internet can be VERY destracting.
  • Writing conversations is much easier, and honestly a lot more fun.
  • The comments tool is your friend; you can always go back and fix things.
  • If you’re nanowrimo time zone settings are off, it will cause you problems.
  • Backup, Backup, Backup!
  • While a title’s not necessary this early, it’s fun to think about.
  • It’s a definite time-killer when you delete entire lines of text in order to go back and fix one typo.

I’ve got 2007 words to write today in order to be fully caught up. We’re planning on a write-in at Battle and Brew before geek trivia; hopefully that will give me enough time.

If you want to follow my progress, you can watch my wordcount rise over at www.nanowrimo.com.

2 thoughts on “Day 4: Only 350 words behind schedule!

  1. You made up a lot of ground yesterday, looks like!

    The internet is the worst distraction for me. I have to unplug my computer from it and turn off WiFi to get anything done. I preemptively “helped” Greg with it by unplugging the internet cable before he sat down to work on his NaNoWriMo project yesterday. ;)

    • I didn’t know Greg was doing nanowrimo also! Tell him I said good luck!

      I believe that internet and television are the most distracting things in life. I spent a few months once living without either, and I felt way more productive during those months than any other…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.